Is this Website for Real ? - Gas Savers - Fuel Efficiency Forum

Go Back   Gas Savers - Fuel Efficiency Forum > Fuel Economy > Fuel Economy Challenge
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2008, 02:56 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Christian7 is on a distinguished road
Is this Website for Real ?

I found this thru gasSavers.org in the form of a link ?
anyone know if its for real or not?
thanks
Tony
http://www.mygassaver.net/index.htm

Christian7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 05:10 PM   #2
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
mfnmk3 is on a distinguished road
The first thing I saw when checking out the site was the company's guarantee:

"Did You Know Your Car Engine Wastes 20%
Of The Gas You Buy? - Ethos Is Easy
To Use, And Starts Saving You Up To 70?
Per Gallon
on Gas - Guaranteed."

The bold claim is the first statement that would edge me away from giving something like this a shot. The statement is purposefully misleading in "guaranteeing" an improvement of "up to" a figure.

I also tend to stay away from offers that market with a 'testimonial' style rather than something that might provide the scientific articles to back it up.

From my reading, emissions of unburnt hydrocarbons are between 1 and 2%, so the dramatic reductions in fuel usage would be quite unlikely.
mfnmk3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 09:14 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sterling, Massachusetts
Posts: 556
Lug_Nut is on a distinguished road
Give me a dollar. I guarantee I'll give back up to ten dollars...

"UP TO" means not more than. They're guaranteeing you'll gain less than their claimed amount. Fine, but....
A reduction is also 'less than'. Even when you lose rather than gain, you are still below their "UP TO" amount.
Lug_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 12:39 PM   #4
Greenhorn
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Jose
Posts: 12
lowestgasprices is on a distinguished road
Another scam company that keep recreating new product names for the same BS products after they are proven not to work why does the government let them get away with this. The FBI should go after them for wire fraud and other crimes a put them away for many years
__________________
Lowest gas prices Save gas
lowestgasprices is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 12:52 PM   #5
Site Team
 
theholycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Glocester, RI
Posts: 6,356
theholycow will become famous soon enoughtheholycow will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to theholycow Send a message via AIM to theholycow Send a message via MSN to theholycow Send a message via Yahoo to theholycow
Why did you bump an old spam thread?
__________________
How to embed videos
Meta-Sig: Hypermiling intro, Miracle FE devices/additives, Aerodynamics, calcs, DIY, weight reduction, K&N/intakes, octane, FAQ, acronyms and glossary.
Exhaust | Hypermile/FE Sleepers | Drafting | DIY fuel rate meter
Tire: Pressure | Width | LRR tires | Size calc
Lugging: not what you think | Gas prices | VX O2,Another
theholycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clip from Amsoil website -BS? RunningOnFumes General Fuel Economy Discussion 10 11-25-2007 05:57 AM
New to website EG8SIR Introduce Yourself 7 12-20-2006 01:29 AM
New Website: Honda-Search.com Matt Timion News and Annoucements 27 07-14-2006 08:35 AM
New here - great idea for a website quattrodave Introduce Yourself 9 03-24-2006 02:55 PM




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Copyright 2005-2008 GasSavers.Org